Chapter History

In 1994, the Pike County Thirteen (Delta Women) completed the arduous application process to charter a chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. in Pike County. 

Chartering members led by Jane V. McGhee, were:

  • Bertha B. Barnes
  • Vera H. Bryant
  • Nicole DeLoach
  • Sandra J. Gatlin
  • Gail B. Knox
  • Geneva Y. Mitchell
  • Amelia A. Nash
  • Geneva Nero Patterson
  • Della W. Pierce
  • LaWanda Weatherspoon
  • W. Pearl Weatherspoon
  • Beverly J. Zackery

They agree on a proposed slate of officers.  A formal election with any necessary corrections would be held on Saturday, April 8, 1995, after the chartering ceremony would have been completed.  The chapter would serve the following counties:  Amite, Lawrence, Lincoln, Pike, and Wilkinson.  Their programs/projects included:  Patrons of Arts, Delta Dolls Pageants, Scholarship Balls, Literacy Programs, Health Fairs, Voter Information/Registration, and support of Grand Chapter’s International initiatives.  Collaborative efforts included Voter Education Forums, Pan Hellenic Programs, Christmas Parades, highway clean-up, Salvation Army Bell Ringing, and VFW Buddy Poppies and Memorials.